Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As Mother Nature would have it, the rainy season has come to Manila. Following the natural course of things, my daughter came home the other day with the sniffles, and guess what? She passed on the sniffles to me which became a full-blown cold in my system the next day (Ah, the travails of a mother). The ironic thing is, my daughter is now fully recovered and is running around with her friends while I’m huddling here in bed. My body has ALWAYS somehow, for some absurd reason, reacted negatively against the cold virus. A cold virus can knock me out for days: runny nose, fever, teary eyes and non-stop sneezing (not to mention the aching joints that accompany the rest of the symptoms). I hate getting sick, and over the years, I’ve come up with my own “comfty” solutions to help my body recuperate as soon as possible.

1) Eat lots of chicken soup — I know this is cliche, but somehow a steaming bowl of hot soup warms just not my body, but my heart as well. This is my own recipe, and my husband and child (even though they’re not sick), usually ends up devouring this as well … And I do mean devour 😀

Ingredients:

  • Elbow-size macaroni noodles
  • 3/4 chicken breast (not de-boned please, because you want the juice out of the bones later on — this will make your soup tastier)
  • 1/2 cabbage (shredded)
  • 1 small carrot (diced)
  • 1 small onion (cut using a half-moon shape)
  • 1 can of Alaska evaporated milk (other evaporated milk brands would also do, but Alaska really tastes better; if you don’t have evaporated milk, I think Fresh Milk could be a substitute.)

Procedure:

A) Boil the chicken breast in at least 6 cups of water. (Make sure you scoop out the grimy looking bubbles that will surface while you’re boiling the chicken. They usually make your chicken stock taste awful if you don’t.)

B) After boiling the chicken, set aside the chicken meat from the soup (DON’T THROW AWAY THE SOUP, you’ll need it later on.)

C) Pick the meat off the chicken, leaving the chicken bones behind. The chicken meat should be bite-size big.

D) Get the chicken soup that you’ve set-aside, if the amount is just right for you, then you don’t have to add any more water to it. Put the macaroni noodles in it (Don’t forget to add a bit of oil and salt in the noodles). Once the noodles are cooked, put the shredded chicken and onion in the pot as well. Let the whole thing boil, then add the carrots. Stir the whole mixture for a while, until the carrots seem a bit tender to you already.

E) Last but not least, add the shredded cabbage and the evaporated milk. Let the whole mixture reach the boiling point again before adding pepper and fish sauce (patis) to taste.

F) Cozy down and enjoy your soup.

picture from JewsforObama

Definitely


2) Boil a basin-full of water, then add 3 tablespoons of rock salt in it. Notice the smoke being produced by the rock salt? Good, you should inhale it, it will ease your clogged-up nostrils, and before you know it, you can breathe easier again.

3) Get plenty of sleep and rest. Try drinking freshly-squeezed orange juice, or if not, at least drink 1000 mg of Vitamin C.

Speaking of rest, I think I’d go back to sleep now. I still haven’t fully recovered and my nose is so red that Rudolph would turn green with envy. See you guys soon and if you’ve got tips of your own, maybe you could share them with me too?

